31

Lady P's Astonishing Memory

31

If you happen to have stumbled across my ‘About’ page here on Substack you will have seen a grid of photographs. I tried to give a little taste of the things I might be chatting about; adventure, design, history, roots, responsibility.

Of course, I could not resist including a picture from my wedding day. I remember clearly leading up to it someone said to me “this will be the happiest day of your life” and I thought that was rather absurd. I was getting married 26 years after first falling in love with David, we had already shared many memorable and very happy days. Turns out whoever told me that was right, it was the happiest day of my life. 

Another photograph shows me in a Ukrainian town as part of the Global Empowerment Mission team. It was one my first visit to Ukraine, recently after the Russian invasion and I was a mess with conflicting emotions. Anger, sadness, desperation, confusion. But working with this foundation always brings hope. There is always hope.

I love the photograph of my parents holding the baby, my mother's hair, her sensational brooch, my father's good looks, but I have to confess that's not me. That’s my sister. I know, that’s a bit of a cheat, isn't it?

Leave a comment

And then there is the photograph of my mother, Prince Philip (seen in the larger photograph my mother has in her hands in the video above) and the Queen. She was Princess Elizabeth at the time, standing in front of my grandfather, who has clearly just dismounted from a polo pony. My mother remembers the moment and even the conversation. Its astonishing her memory. Particularly considering that today is her 94th birthday.


Soon there will be a tiny fee, for Lady P’s memories and more. Don’t panic, for the same price as a cappuccino you will have a months worth of musings.


Subscription Details

FREE

For new and current friends, you may like to read a few favorite entries from my “official” website shared here and have a listen to a podcast or two to get to know me and more importantly my astonishing Mum.

PAID

Curious friends, joining me on this new journey, thank you, there is an un-alarming monthly or annual subscription which will give you a deeper dive into the archives, longer stories from the past and present, and generally just more of more, without the interruption of ads or the agony of algorithms.

FOUNDING FRIENDS

And for fierce founding friends, work is always in progress to bring some exciting exclusive moments for you — a monthly musing to include confessions and conversations, riveting reveals and a deeper dive into my mother's Muniment room.

31 Comments
INDIA HICKS. An Unexpected Journey.
INDIA HICKS. An Unexpected Journey.
Authors
India Hicks